Two left feet

Actually it’s two right feet I ended up with – in my packing I didn’t think to check the two sandals I grabbed off the shelf. Husband, having an identical pair, I ended up with one of my right shoes, and one of his. So he has two left to match my right. Sigh, I only noticed that when I arose in San Diego, somewhat befuddled after twenty hours of travel.

I tried the right one on the left foot and wondered for a few seconds 20140326-IMG_0550-55if I could wear them this way, but then discarded the idea, though not the sandals. Husband will reunite me with my left shoe when he arrives and in the meantime, I can make do.

Not to worry, on Olano beach La Jolla, we found a left Birkenstock sandal, and it fits. You know, if it fits, wear it.

20140326-IMG_0551-32

Further on I found a full pair of rather glam leather thongs,(shoe variety) and they fit too. So now I have matched or unmatched sandals to choose from. Hey I’m not proud! And the whales won’t care what I have on my feet, as long as it’s not flippers.PS If you’re the lady whose sandals ended up with me on my travels – my apologies. 20140326-IMG_0549-58

I did wait a long time to ensure that none of the ladies coming up from the beach would lay claim to them before I helped myself. And now you know, they are gracing someone else’s feet in San Ignacio, Mexico.

So, we hired a van to get around for a day to checkout the beaches around SD.The coastline is quite spectacular – cliffs falling vertically for 50m to a flat beach.

20140320-IMG_9752-52

 

 

The cliffs really are falling – I would not be paying 10.5M for a house perched just feet from the edge – the whole lot look like it’s just one more blow and they all fall down. And Humpty Dumpty will DEFINITELY not be able to put this lot together again.

 

20140321-IMG_9804-50

 

20140320-IMG_9792-55

 

The cliffs plus an onshore breeze make ideal conditions for hang gliders and pelicans, and maybe hang-gliding pelicans. All the time we are on the cliffs, groups of 4 to 20 pelicans float their way up and the coast, effortlessly gliding the wind currents. They really are a treat,but very hard to photograph – against a bright sky, and moving fast. We can but try.

20140321-IMG_9857-30

 

 

 

One of the birds coming towards us looks funny, almost like it has it’s undercarriage down. As I’m tracking it in my lens, I realise it’s an osprey with a fish in its claws – snap snap, have I got it? I hope so! Not the best shot in the  world, but David Attenborough I am not.

 

Leave a Reply

